autumn!

Inspired by my friend Ashley  (check her out at One Ordinary Day)…

I love Autumn!  It is my favorite time of year.  First of all, I like the name “Autumn”.  “Fall” is lame.  It’s weak and discouraging.  (“I’ve fallen and I can’t get up!)  I understand that it is the time of year when life begins to fade.  But, this verse always comes to mind for Autumn.   “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it produces much grain. ” (John 12:24)  There is indeed a  beauty in the Autumn Season. I am biased for sure.  Growing up inNew York, it is absolutely phenomonal.  The brilliance of the autumn leaves takes my breathe away.  The cool, crisp air awakens me, makes me feel alive.  I gladly bid goodbye to the stifling hot air of summer.  I love the coolness in the house, that makes me want to snuggle for just another minute before I get up.  I love getting outside and enjoying the briskness instead of the dread of the dirt sticking to my hot skin.  I love the crunch of fallen leaves under my feet.  I love picking apples, and the smell of apple crisp filling the air.  I love making autumn leaf collages with my kids.  Have I listed enough of what I love about it!!

I get a bit nostalgic every autumn.  It always makes me “homesick” for New York.  I have lived in Prescott for 17 years now (well, a few in Austin), but my thoughts always turn to New York this time of year.  We’ve been able to visit New York in Autumn a number of times,  but it’s been about 3 years now.  One of my best times with my husband was an autumn adventure to New York.  We flew into Buffalo, New York and drove across the state to my family’s home in the south eastern corner of New York.  We had a glorious time!  It was such a thrill for me to “show” him the beauty of a New England Autumn!  Ohhh, fun memories.  I am also reminded of our first mission trip together.  It was October and we traveled with a small team to Hungary and then to Romania.  Good memories.

Yes, I love Autumn!

Leave a comment

Filed under On a Personal Note

Leave a Reply

