Clean up time

Don’t you just love those friends that listen to you complain and grumble a little bit, but then give you a kick in the butt and tell you to keep going!?

I DO!  And sometimes that’s just what I need.

I recently got stung by my lack of discernment.  I had opened up and shared, perhaps a little bit too much with someone.  I wasn’t doing it to get sympathy, but sometimes I just need to “let off a little steam” as the saying goes.  The day after our conversation I almost called her back to be sure that I didn’t leave the wrong impression.  Well, I didn’t call back; but I did leave the wrong impression.  Bummer.

So now over a month later, I’ve got to go back and clean up the mess I made.

Here’s a few verses that I ought to remember…

  • Proverbs 21:23   Whoever guards his mouth and tongue keeps his soul from troubles.
  • Proverbs 31:26  She opens her mouth with wisdom… 
  • Psalm 141:3  Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth;keep watch over the door of my lips.

Another tidbit I learned from this is that before I seek to “help” someone with MY counsel, I need to be sure that I have prayed and sought God’s guidance in the matter. I should be quick to pray, not to counsel or fix things. I should not try to “remedy” a situation that may very well be exactly what the Lord is using to mold this person. 

1 Comment

Filed under Growing in Jesus, On a Personal Note

One response to “Clean up time

  1. Jonah and I were just talking yesterday about the wisdom of Proverbs…you can’t say something you shouldn’t if you just keep your mouth shut! 🙂 I need to practice this more.

Leave a Reply

