JOY!

Bebe is in Scotland. So that would generally mean I have a few spare moments to update my blog…it has been awhile.  What I find difficult is that I have many, many things that I would like to put in here and then I get overwhelmed thinking about all of my life in the last month and don’t put anything in.

So, I will try to find a middle ground 🙂

I was totally blessed at the beginning of the month.  I was invited to join some super sweet ladies to go to the Calvary Chapel’s Pastor’s Wives Retreat in Murietta, California.  4 days and 3 nights away from my home, my children and my husband.  The “away from home” part sounded great!  “Away from the kids” sounded not so bad too.  I love my husband a ton, so that part didn’t appeal to me so much.  But…a time to focus on Jesus with no cooking, no cleaning or laundry?  I was in!  And my husband graciously agreed.

As I was preparing the meals before I left, I actually began to get really anxious about going.  Now that is not me.  I can pick up and go somewhere pretty darn quick if I want to.  Even with all the kids.  But this was different.  I began to think, “Oh no, my babies! How will they ever survive without me?!”  Well, the Lord provided 3 wonderful ladies to care for them, love them, play with and yes, even teach them while I was away.  That is pretty remarkable!  So, I reminded myself that the Lord is in control, He provided everything necessary for me to go, all would be just fine while I was away.

And sure enough, it was.  The kids were good.  No broken bones, trips to the ER.

And me, oh, God is so good to me.  I believe His main message for me was to let His joy shine through me to my family.  To those 5 little precious ones I left at home.  Not to be overburdened and frazzled.  To allow “the joy of the Lord” to be my strength.

(Breathe.)  What a wonderful, freeing message. I am so thankful to my Jesus that He loves me so much, to take me away for a few days to let me laugh til I cried (yes I did!), to laught til I thought “get yourself undercontrol, they are going to think you’re crazy!”  To be reminded of the life that Jesus wants for me to live. 

“But those who wait on the LORD Shall renew their strength; They shall mount up with wings like eagles, They shall run and not be weary, They shall walk and not faint.” – Isa 40:31 NKJV

Leave a comment

Filed under Growing in Jesus, Mothering

Leave a Reply

