hedgerow

This last week or two I feel like the path our lives (my family) are on are actually leading us away from that which we are praying, yearning, called and desiring to do.  Hmmm.  What to make of this? 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Well, I’ve been a bit of an emotional roller coaster rider.  All the while, I KNOW, yes really do KNOW, that God is only leading us to where we need to be to truly do that which He has purposed for us.  I’ve found myself telling myself, “It’s okay.  God has something better.”  “It’s alright.  God is wanting to really take us to the bottom, the end of our own means, so that He can show how amazing He is.”  And other similar statements.  “I’m not ready yet.  I still have so many lessons I need to learn.  Just relax and learn the lesson.”

I know though that God is very persistent.  Extremely.  Especially when He knows that I really, really do want to submit. 

He used these verses from my Bible study to encourage me.

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.”  Ephesians 2:10

I have this mental picture of a little wandering child, aimlessly meandering through a large hedgerow.  Like some fancy old garden on the grounds of castle.  At first, just dawdling along, just enjoying the sight and smell, the sounds.  But then, the panic sets in and the child begins to run wildly with no direction.  Yikes!  But, stop for a moment. 

Picture this same beautiful garden hedgerow from a bird’s eye view.  Isnt’ that so much better?  There’s a calm.  Peace.  Knowing.  Yes, a knowing that there is an end.  And indeed it spills out into a beautiful flower garden full of wonderful delights of sights and smells.  Ahhh, that’s better. 

Well that is indeed God’s perspective.  I am that little child.  Unsure.  Perhaps confused at times.  (Ahem, well, probably more often than not).  At any rate, God is God.  He sees, He knows. 

He will delight my soul with His abundance. 

“The LORD will perfect that which concerns me; Your mercy, O LORD, endures forever; Do not forsake the works of Your hands.”  Psalm 138:8

He has a certain purpose and plan.  It will not falter.  In this I can be confident, because of who He is.  Not because of me, my accomplishments, rather shortcomings, or anything else.  He is God. He will accomplish that which concerns me.

Lord, help me to be able to see life and circumstance more clearly, through Your own eyes, instead of my own weak and failing eyes. 

1 Comment

Filed under Growing in Jesus, On a Personal Note

One response to “hedgerow

  1. What a great visual! And I love the pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

