Successful Day

I feel very accomplished today. 

It may not seem like much to others, but for me it was a successful day.

Started with early morning devotions and shower BEFORE the kids even got up!  That is THE BEST way to start the day.  If I can do this before I hear any little pitter patter, it’s  a good start. 🙂

Then my little cowboy shared his devos with me.  It was about how important it is that we always remember God’s Word.  Good lesson to hear from my 7 year old boy.

Before breakfast I played a few rounds of Boggle with the “big kids”.  This, at times, will include my Audrey Joy.  She wanted to play boggle too.  She does so by writing down all the different letters that she sees.  Isn’t that cute?  🙂  I enjoyed sitting with Ms. Grace when she got up and doing a magnet book.  Our mornings are not usually this enjoyable or laid back…especially when we need to be out of the house by 9:45am!

A twinge of chaos and then off to gymnastics.  The three tiny ones, of which my Joy girl is sometimes a part of, had fun.  I had fun watching them.  My homeschoolers had a productive time there also.  The best part though was watching Andrew run around with glee shouting “baby! baby!”  He just could not get enough of those little baby girls.  He chased them all over the place!  Ms. Grace is being promoted to Tot 2 next week!  So that puts us at a gymnast in Tot 1, Tot 2, Tot 3, Boys Level 1 and Hot Shots Intermediate.  Whew – makes me tired just thinking of it all!

We got home and finished chores, had lunch, and then after some quiet time we actually finished our schoolwork.  I got to spend some extra time with my Joy girl.  It was fun…she surprises me with how much she enjoys learning.  Or maybe it’s just that she enjoys spending one on one time with me.  I guess she’ll take whatever she can get!

We finished the day with play time, pizza and a movie (with snuggles on the couch with Annalisa).  And a chapter of Nate Saint (and more snuggles with Annalisa).

I feel like it was a well rounded day.  I shared a special moment with each of the kids. Now THAT is an accomplishment! 

I wish it wasn’t such a big deal to “fit” this in, but sometimes at the end of the day, I think, “Did I spend a moment with each of my children individually?”  Unfortunately alot of the time the answer is “no”. But today, I can say YES!  THAT right there is what makes me feel like I accomplished something today. 

I’ve still got a kitchen (and dining room) full of dirty dishes, crumbs and greasy fingerprints.  Still have tons of laundry, stacks of papers, and unfinished tasks to complete.

But, my children know that they are loved and special, individually.

1 Comment

Filed under Family Life, Just Another Day, Little Ones, Mothering

One response to “Successful Day

  1. emily

    And THAT Darling is what it is all about! God Bless you for being a wonderful and loving Mom! I love you XOX

Leave a Reply

