Lotta’s Bike, featuring my Joy Girl

Lotta’s Bike byAstrid Lindgren

I normally don’t like books that tend to focus on a child’s naughty behavior.  The way I see it is that they just do fine with that on their own, they don’t really need the “encouragement” in that particular vein. 

But…this book actually put a smirk on my face as I read through it.

It reminds me of a special little girl I know. One I like to call my “Joy Girl”.  It’s a bit of sarcasm, I will admit it.  But, then again, it IS her middle name.  Kind of ironic really, since she seems to have such a difficult time in finding joy.  It’s there all around her.  She enjoys it, that’s certain.  However, she’s seems to focus a tad too much on the things that she’s not so joyful about.

I found it humorous at how much she liked this book. Even though no one had read it to her yet, she would just look through the pictures over and over. 

In fact, here is her favorite picture.

I should’ve zoomed in some more, but that’s Lotta flying over the fence head first.  She had stolen the nice neighbor ladies bike while she was napping, after she had given her a beautiful jeweled bracelet for her birthday.  The next picture is Lotta screaming her head off because she landed on it in the bushes and got a bump.  Then she sees the blood on her leg, and begins to scream “BLOOD! BLOOD! BLOOD!”  If you look closely, you’ll see the tears spurting from her screaming face.  A nice sweet kids book. 🙂

Yup.  These are her favorite pictures.  Not sure why really.  But, maybe just because she’s my Joy Girl.

I will say I thoroughly enjoyed the book.  Even with naughty little Lotta’s tantrums.  She’s definitely got some spunk…like some other little girl I know!

2 Comments

Filed under Just Another Day, Little Ones

2 responses to “Lotta’s Bike, featuring my Joy Girl

  1. I absolutely LOVED this book as a child. Where did you get this copy? It’s so hard to find (at an affordable price)!

Leave a Reply

