My Purpose…

My friend Ashley, got all this started.

http://www.oneordinaryday.com/2011/04/11/mother-thoughts-chapter-3/

The Book: The Mission of Motherhood  by Sally Clarkson

Here’s what I have to say…

I really am enjoying the book, and am sad I have to return it to the library!

I was totally convicted reading this chapter. But, really encouraged as well. It brought me back to some of the “basics”. Being a homeschool mom,  I find it very easy to gauge how good of a day we have had based on how much school we accomplished.  The children are in on it to!  Not really a bad thing…they are excited to announce to Dad when he gets home “We finished all our school today Dad!”   Although, that is great, I need to be careful that THAT does not become my mission.

I appreciated the reminder of the very reasons we have chosen to homeschool. To be able to be the one who nurtures our children. And that indeed takes time and purpose.

As the author was talking about a full time working mother giving her children the “leftovers” I felt like she could’ve been describing me! And yet I am home all the time with my children!   I MUST remember, the reason I am at home is for them, not me!

Prov. 14:1 has also really been the verse that I have been meditating on alot.

[Pro 14:1 NKJV] – The wise woman builds her house, But the foolish pulls it down with her hands.


 It certainly does take a determined effort to build; the tearing down seems to happen rather naturally being the sinful fallen creatures that we are.

A great chapter…a lot to think, and act upon.

1 Comment

Filed under Family Life, Growing in Jesus, Homeschool, Just Another Day, Little Ones, Mothering

One response to “My Purpose…

  1. Danielle

    So true Tara, Im constantly reminding myself too when I dont get our whole lesson done. I try to remind myself of what we did accomplish. Thanks for sharing, Im gonna haft to get that book! Danielle

Leave a Reply

