Mac and Cheese…

Well, I didn’t ever figure I would post about food.  I enjoy cooking most of the time.  But most often, it’s a quick throw it together with out much planning. 

We’ll be finishing school or playing outside and, almost daily, I say – OH! What should I fix for dinner?!

I’ve some friends who do the weekly meal planning, shop accordingly and it works for them.  I can’t imagine that would ever work for me.  I think I’ve got too much of my mom in me for that to work!  🙂

All that said, I have been doing some reading on some healthier ways to cook and feed my family.  We have a number of food allergies, which hasn’t been too challenging, but always something I am considering when thinking of meals.  How do I need to alter this, what will be my substitute?  My main issues are peanuts (really, I just avoid all nuts) and dairy.

So, to get to the mac and cheese.  I’ve read a number of recipes using purees added to the pot, and apparently it goes off without a hitch.  One book I’ve looked at is Deceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld.  (Yes, that’s Jerry’s wife. I didn’t even know he was married, let alone has three kids!)   Here’s the link, although, I haven’t actually looked at it yet… http://www.doitdelicious.com/

I never really follow recipes.  I take their ideas and then add a little this or that, leave something out, since I didn’t plan ahead and am missing an ingredient.  See how I roll?  I don’t really measure things either.  So, although some of you have asked me for the recipe, I’ll give it my best shot, and then  you can check Jessica’s and see how it matches up!  Oh yeah, I love those blogs that show you all the beautiful pictures of the ingredients nicely chopped and bubbling in the pan…you won’t get that here, sorry.

First, I pureed a butternut squash.  Baking it and processing it took a long time.  But you could do this one day, then freeze it (which I did with the remainder in 1/2 cup increments) and it would be much quicker to make.

I cooked the pasta. 

In a separate pot, I poured some olive oil (enough to coat the bottom) and about a tablespoon or two of flour.  Heated that through.

Then I added about 1/2 cup of squash puree.

Next, I dumped the pasta in and stirred it up.

I then grated some cheddar cheese.  I would guess it was close to 2 cups worth.  Added that into the pot, stirred it up and then a little milk because it was looking a bit thick.

Stirred it all up.  Added some salt and pepper.  Then some more salt.

It was yummy.

Andrew devoured it.  Annalisa winked at me and told me it was good. (She knew what I was up to.)  And lil Miss Joy, well, she even ate half a bowl and told me it was good.  I do think she will eat more next time.  Anything that looks slightly different is reason for alarm in her book.  I should’ve used the same little noodles like Kraft does. 

All in all I think it was a hit!

I’d love to know what you think about it….

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Little Ones, Mothering

One response to “Mac and Cheese…

  1. emily

    You my Darling Daughter are too funny and quite amazing! I’m afraid you’re right about my shopping and planning abilities( I still like to be spontaneous) but you do have an a talent for making things work (actually, I think you got that from me too!) And you do have alot of challenges while making meals, but you always make it fun. And, I love that Annalisa gave you the wink…….Too cute!

Leave a Reply

