A New Season

We have been adjusting to a new schedule.  New in many ways! I think I’ll get to that in a later post though.  For now, a little background.

My dear husband (“Bebe”) has accepted a full time position at our church.  This is huge for us.  It has been our prayer for over 12 years to be able to serve the Lord in a “full-time position”.  We have basically been serving the Lord “part-time” for many years, although not for a wage.  We are so very blessed by this answer to prayer. We are free to commit all our energy to Him!

This change has also come on the heels of a very long few months for our family.  Bebe had been working a lot out of town, spending a  night or two away, working 16 hours a day (no joke).  Then when he was home, he was too utterly exhausted to do much of anything else but rest.  That can be challenging for 5 little ones who are excited to see their daddy, and a wife/mother who is desperately needing some adult interaction and reprieve from those 5 sweet little ones.  In fact, we were ready to pull back from serving in the church all together. 

I “had it out” with the Lord one day.  I told Him, “Well fine, Lord.  If you just don’t want us to serve you right now, FINE! I’ll stop fighting with you, I give up God!”  And, interestingly enough, it was that very weekend our senior pastor invited Bebe to join the pastoral team.  Wow.  Maybe I should’ve “given up” sooner!

Job 23:10, 14   “But He knows the way that I take…For He performs [what is] appointed for me…”

Don’t you wish you could just remember this basic truth more often? I wish I could! 

During those few months, I struggled.  Too much really.  I could look around and see others in more difficult situations than myself.  Husbands that had to be gone for months.  I could see marriages falling apart.  I was trying to be thankful that Bebe was only gone for a few days at a time.  I was definitely thankful for our marriage, and the faithful love that we have for one another.  But, I just found myself really struggling.  I don’t know why, still.  And it kind of bothers me. 

I desire to trust the Lord so completely that all else that transpires in my life is truly viewed through a heart and mind that is at peace with Him and that which He allows in my life. 

Psalm 25:4   Show me Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths.

1 Comment

Filed under Family Life, Growing in Jesus, Marriage, On a Personal Note

One response to “A New Season

  1. Kim

    Thats sweet tara,made me cry.

Leave a Reply

