Re-evaluating Life

Bebe took the two big kids and went on anexcursion. A two day trip to Utah with a mission…snowboarding! They are all thrilled, this being the only time they’ve gotten to ride this season.

Last night, Joy girl spent the night at her friend’s house. This was her first “real” sleepover! Wow.  She’s getting big…

So that left me with just my two little ones last night.  And some much needed time to think…

I’ve been having a bit of overload lately.

My two youngest, we’ll call them “Grace” and “little Man”. (Ironically, Grace is her middle name and she sure needs a lot of God’s grace to keep her safe as she tumbles through life! And then, little Man is as just as stubborn as an old weathered man!) Anyway, they are at each other constantly. I am attempting to homeschool the other three: 4th grade,  2nd grade and Kindergarten. Yes, attempting; feeling like quite a failure these days.

On top of the normal, we have had a terrible time lately with allergies and asthma. This has meant numerous breathing treatments and “chest clopping” daily for the last month. Add to that, crazy house cleaning like I’ve never done…and don’t enjoy – and you’ve got one worn out mom.

Last night was good for me. I sat down to do my bi-yearly (or so) “homeschool review”. It’s a time to reconsider what each of my child’s needs are. Their strengths, weaknesses; how I can care for each one individually. And then I reformat a new schedule that will hopefully accomodate everyone.

I didn’t get far at all.  All of my kids need more of me.

And I already feel like there is not enough of me to go around (and I’ve not at all mentioned that I am a wife and have a responsibility to my husband too!)

So, I somehow ended up on a few websites, blogs, and the Lord brought me to a better place.

Re-evaluating my life! Yeah, that’s big.

Instead of trying to “fix” this one area of “how do I fit all my homeschool in?”, He brought me to a deeper issue of what is my purpose and how can I work with HIM to fulfill the call He has put on my life.

Now I’ve got some praying and thinking to do. I will certainly revisit this. It all needs to simmer in my mind and heart for a bit first.

Plus, little Man is climbing on the counter and I need to go get their chest x-rays done again before picking up Joy girl.

I’ll be back again soon. Until then, may the Lord give you vision and clear instruction for your calling!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family Life, Growing in Jesus, Homeschool, Little Ones, Mothering, On a Personal Note

Leave a Reply

